

List of Major Sports Awards in India & Winners

Sports Awards and accolades are an important section of General Awareness section. It is important to prepare for the general awareness section. Static GK is more popular than current affairs in General awareness section. Aspirants must be well versed with topics from history, geography, science, environment and sports will be able to clear any competitive exam.

Major Sports Awards in India:

There are two old proverbs that go well with Sports - "Practice makes a man perfect" and "All work and no play makes jack a dull boy". All of us have played some sport or the other during school days. While boys played games like cricket, football, kabbadi, and a lot of indoor games, girls too participated in a lot of sports. Schools and Colleges often give trophies and medals to sports winners or simply give them a participation certificate.

While speaking of sports there are several awards for state level and national level players. The government of India and respective state governments give awards to all sports players. There are several awards like Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award and Dyanchand Award. Lets look at winners of various sports awards over the years. Please note that the Major sports awards are given to national level and international level sports players.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award - Sports Awards in India

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest sports award given to the most outstanding performance in the field of sports at national or international level.

- As of 2017, winners of this award receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakhs in cash, a citation and medal.
- Initially, the government gave this award for performance in sports for 1 year which was later changed to performance of a sports person for four years in 2015.
- The government sets up a committee of 12 members who monitor and evaluate the performance of the sports person and their outstanding contribution to sports.
- The sports persons are evaluated for international sports events like Olympic games, Asian Games, Commonwealth games and Paralympic Games.
- The 12 member committee gives their recommendation to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for their nod.

Winners of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards:

Year	Name	Category
1991-92	Viswanathan Anand	Chess
1992-93	Geet Sethi	Billiards
1994-95	Cdr. Homi D. Motivala Lt. Cdr. P. K. Garg	Yachting



1995-96	Karnam Malleswari	Weightlifting
1996-97	Nameirakpam Kunjarani	Weightlifting
	Leander Paes	Tennis
1997-98	Sachin Tendulkar	Cricket
1998-99	Jyotirmoyee Sikdar	Athletics
1999- 2000	Dhanraj Pillay	Hockey
2000-01	Pullela Gopichand	Badminton
2001-02	Abhinav Bindra	Shooting
2002-03	Anjali Ved Pathak Bhagwat	Shooting
2002-05	K. M. Beenamo	Athletics
2003-04	Anju Bobby George	Athletics
2004-05	Lt. co. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore	Shooting
2005-06	Pankaj Advani	Billiards & Snooker
2006-07	Manavjit Singh Sandhu	Shooting
2007-08	Mahendra Singh Dhoni	Cricket
2008-09	Mary Kom	Boxing
	Vijender Singh	Boxing
	Sushil Kumar	Wrestling
2009-10	Saina Nehwal	Badminton
2010-11	Gagan Narang	Shooting
2011-12	Vijay Kumar	Shooting
2011-12	Yogeshwar Dutt	Wrestling
2012-13	Ronjan Sodhi	Shooting
2014-15	Sania Mirza	Tennis
2015-16	P. V. Sindhu	Badminton
	Sakshi Malik	Wrestling



	Dipa Karmakar	Gymnastics
	Jitu Rai	Shooting
2016-17	Devendra Jhajharia	Para Athlete
	Sardara Singh	Hockey

Sports Awards in India – Arjuna Award

Arjuna Award is given to sports persons who have an outstanding performance for four continuous years. All Arjuna awardees receive cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh, a certificate, trophy or statuettes. Please note that Arjuna award if honor of sports person in national level and state level who have made invaluable contribution to sports.

Name of the Awardees	Discipline
Ms. V.J. Surekha	Archery
Ms. Khushbir Kaur	Athletics
Mr. Arokia Rajiv	Athletics
Ms. Prasanthi Singh	Basketball
Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh	Boxing
Mr. Cheteshwar Pujara	Cricket
Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur	Cricket
Ms. OinamBembem Devi	Football
Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia	Golf
Mr. S.V. Sunil	Hockey
Mr. Jasvir Singh	Kabaddi
Mr. P. N. Prakash	Shooting
Mr. A. Amalraj	Table Tennis
Mr. Saketh Myneni	Tennis
Mr. Satyawart Kadian	Wrestling
Mr. Mariyappan	Para-Athlete
Mr. Varun Singh Bhati	Para-Athlete

Sports Awards in India – Dronacharyya Award



The Dronacharya Award is in honor of coaches who made victory possible. It is quite difficult to achieve success without the help of coaches. Teachers are the backbone of society and the award is in honor of those sports coaches who stood like a pillar behind every victorious sports persons. Dronacharya Awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakh, certificate and a trophy

List of award recipients, showing the year and discipline(s)

Y e a r	Recipient	Discipline
2009	Jaydev Bisht	Boxing
2012	Sunil Dabas	Kabaddi
2012	B. I. Fernandez	Boxing
2012	Bhawani Mukherjee	Table Tennis
2012	Virender Poonia	Athletics
2012	Satyapal Singh	Athletics§
2012	Harendra Singh	Hockey
2012	Yashvir Singh	Wrestling
2013	Purnima Mahato	Archery
2013	Narender Singh Saini	Hockey
2013	Mahavir Singh	Boxing
2013	Raj Singh	Wrestling
2013	K. P. Thomas	Athletics
2014	Gurcharan Gogi	Judo
2014	Jose Jacob	Rowing
2014	N. Lingappa	Athletics
2014	Ganapathy Manoharan	Boxing
2014	Mahabir Prasad	Wrestling
2015	Nihar Ameen	Swimming
2015	Anoop Singh	Wrestling
2015	Harbans Singh	Athletics
2015	Naval Singh	Athletics§
2015	Swatantar Raj Singh	Boxing
2016	Sagar Mal Dhayal	Boxing
2016	S. Pradeep Kumar	Swimming
2016	Bishweshwar Nandi	Gymnastics



Y e a r	Recipient	Discipline
2016	Mahavir Singh Phogat	Wrestling
2016	Nagapuri Ramesh	Athletics
2016	Rajkumar Sharma	Cricket
2017	R. Gandhi	Athletics
2017	Heera Nand Kataria	Kabaddi
2017	G. S. S. V. Prasad	Badminton
2017	Brij Bhushan Mohanty	Boxing
2017	P. A. Raphel	Hockey
2017	Sanjoy Chakraverthy	Shooting
2017	Roshan Lal	Wrestling

Sports Awards in India – Dyanchand Awards

Dhyan Chand awards is officially known as **Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games**. Dhyan Chand Award is awarded to those who have spent a lifetime contributing to sports. The award is named after Major Dhyan chand, the legendary Indian Hockey Player who scores 1000 goals during a career span of 20 years. Dhyanchand awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakhs, a certificate and trophy.

Winners of Dhyan Chand Awards 2017:

2013	Syed Ali	Hockey
2013	Anil Mann	Wrestling
2013	Mary D'Souza Sequeira	Athletics
2013	Girraj Singh	Athletics (Parasports)
2014	Zeeshan Ali	Tennis
2014	Gurmail Singh	Hockey
2014	K. P. Thakkar	Swimming
2015	Romeo James	Hockey
2015	Shiv Prakash Mishra	Tennis
2015	T. P. Padmanabhan Nair	Volleyball
2016	Sylvanus Dung Dung	Hockey
2016	Sathi Geetha	Athletics
2016	Rajendra Pralhad Shelke	Rowing



2017	Bhupender Singh	Athletics
2017	Syed Shahid Hakim	Football
2017	Sumrai Tete	Hockey

Stay tuned for more updates on List of Major Sports Awards in India $\& \$ Winners